Archive of News Updates


Molly Sproston won 2nd place in the Biotechnology Division Student Abstract Award Contest at the American Oil Chemists’ Society (AOCS) Annual Meeting and Expo held May 1-4, 2016 for her work titled “Enzymatic Modification of Anhydrous Milkfat with n-3 and n-6 Fatty Acids for Potential Use in Infant Formula: A Comparison of Methods”. She was present to receive her award at the Biotechnology Division Dinner, May 3, 2016 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Dr. Ki-Teak Lee, 1st Ph.D. student to graduate under Dr. Casimir C. Akoh, was awarded the Timothy L. Mounts Award, sponsored by Bunge North America, at this years 107th AOCS Annual Meeting & Expo held May 1–4, 2016 in Salt Lake City, Utah. This award recognizes research relating to the science and technology of edible oils, both basic and applied in nature.

Molly Sproston has been selected to receive the Toledo Graduate Student Support Award. This is a cash award established in honor of Dr. Romeo Toledo who retired from the UGA Department of Food Science and Technology in 2007. Congratulations Molly!


Congratulations to Lucy and Joe Zou (Long Zou) with the new addition of Mandy Zou, born November 14th, 2015 at 2:55 pm, 4 lb 12 oz and 18.5 inches long. Mom and baby are doing very well. Best wishes from the Akoh Lab. Go to the photo gallery to view the beautiful new bundle of joy.

Dr. Casimir C. Akoh received two new awards. The World Academy of Biocatalysis and Agricultural Biotechnology (WABAB) honored Dr. Akoh as Fellow/WABAB Academician, with his election by the International Society of Biocatalysis and Biotechnology (ISBAB) in recognition of his outstanding and innovative contributions to lipid biotechnology, structured lipids, functional and healthful lipids research at their 11th International Symposium on Biocatalysis and Agricultural Biotechnology held in Banff, Alberta, Canada, on September 14, 2015. Dr. Akoh also received the Alumni Achievement Award from the University of Nigeria (UNN) Alumni and Friends Association, USA, in recognition of his scholarly contributions in the fields of Food Chemistry and Food Biochemistry at their annual meeting held in Chicago, IL, on September 19, 2015. The award honors UNN alumni who have made significant contributions to his or her profession.

Congratulations to The UGA IFTSA College Bowl, of which, Ebenezer Ifeduba is a member. The team won the 2015 Southeast Area competition held Saturday, March 28, at the University of Florida. The University of Georgia team went undefeated in all rounds.

Ebenezer Ifeduba was the recipient of the American Oil Chemists’ Society (AOCS) 2015
Edible Applications Technology Division Student Award. This award recognizes outstanding research in Edible Applications Technology.


Winners at the 2014 IFT Annual Meeting & Food Expo: Long Zou was awarded 2nd in the IFT Food Chemistry Division Graduate Research Paper Competition and 3rd in the IFT Marketing & Management Division Graduate Research Paper Competition.

Long Zou received the 2014 Chinese American Food Society Outstanding Student Award. The award is based on promoting quality and professionalism in scientific research and communication skills among graduate students in food science, technology or engineering.

Ebenezer Ifeduba received the 2014 Biotechnology Student Excellence Award from the American Oil Chemists’ Society (AOCS).

Ebenezer Ifeduba received the 2014 John Kitt Memorial Scholarship from the American Association of Candy Technologists (AACT).

Congratulations to The UGA IFTSA College Bowl, of which, Ebenezer Ifeduba is a member. The team won the 2014 Southeast Area competition held Saturday, March 29, at Alabama A & M University and will compete in the 29th Annual College Bowl Competition Finals in New Orleans to be held Monday, June 23, 2014.


Ebenezer Ifeduba, Ph.D. Student, received the Dr. John and Irene Powers Graduate Scholarship. This scholarship is given to a graduate student majoring in Food Science with outstanding academic potential and a commitment to the fields of food processing and sensory evaluation, as a career goal.

Ebenezer Ifeduba, Ph.D. Student, received the American Oil Chemists’ Society, Biotechnology Student Excellence Award. This award is given to a student presenting an outstanding paper in the field of biotechnology at the 2013 AOCS Annual Meeting and Expo.

Long Zou, Ph.D. student, was honored as an associate member of Phi Tau Sigma.

Long Zou, Ph.D. student, received Student Travel Funding from the Graduate School of the University of Georgia to give a presentation at the 2013 IFT Annual Meeting & Expo.


The American Oil Chemists’ Society honored Dr. Casimir Akoh, Distinguished Research Professor, The University of Georgia, Department of Food Science and Technology, as the recipient of its highest award, the Supelco/Nicholas Pelick-AOCS Research Award, which distinguished Akoh’s outstanding original research in fats, oils, lipid chemistry, or biochemistry and recognized his accomplishments in defining the methods and conditions for lipase-catalyzed modification of fats and oils, as well as, spearheading efforts for their applications in foods to benefit mankind.

IFT President, Roger Clemens, presented Dr. Casimir C. Akoh, Distinguished Research Professor, Department of Food Science and Technology, The University of Georgia,  the 2012 Nicholas Appert Award, which is IFT’s most prestigious honor, and is given annually to an IFT member for preeminence in and contributions to the field of food science and technology.