UGA Horticulture Department

Hort Faculty Recognized For Teaching Efforts




Several Horticulture Department faculty were recently recognized for their teaching efforts at the 2016 Celebration of Teaching sponsored by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences here at UGA.  Dr. Doug Bailey, our Department Head, along with Dr. Marc van Iersel, were recognized by students and received the CTL “Thank a Teacher Award.” Professor Marc van Iersel was recognized for receiving the prestigious 2016 American Society for Horticultural Science Outstanding Graduate Educator Award, and Tim Smalley was recognized for receiving the Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professorship, our highest University level teaching award. Rounding out the evening. Dr. David Berle, Dr. Matthew Chappell, Dr. Tim Smalley, Dr. Bodie Pennisi, and Dr. Paul Thomas received recognition for their classes being cited by students as “My Favorite Class” in the 2015 “Thank a Professor Week” activities. Given how small our department is compared to many in the college, we represented well. Special thanks to the anonymous Horticulture students who said so many nice things about our faculty! (Pictures are faculty able to attend the banquet: From the left Dr. Marc van Iersel, Dr. Bodie Pennisi, Dr. Tim Smalley and Dr. Paul Thomas. Not present but appreciated are Dr. Doug Bailey, Dr. David Berle and Dr. Matt Chappell.

Posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

About pathomas

Professor of Floriculture, Extension Specialist, Chapter Advisor to MANRRS (Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences), and to Tau Chapter of PAX (Pi Alpha Xi National Honor Society).